PSGBI Committee

Pancreatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland

The Pancreatic Society aims to promote education, training, research and development in understanding and managing pancreatic conditions. It endeavours to increase both professional and public awareness of the prevalence of pancreatic conditions and the facilities that are available for its management. The Society is involved in all aspects of pancreatic conditions and through the work of the Committee


  1. Society Officials
  2. Committee Members
  3. Past Presidents

Society Officials

The Pancreatic Society of Great Britail and Ireland is governed by a committee elected by the membership. Each member of the committe serves the Society in an honorary capacity throughout the year, ensuring the Aims and Objectives of the society are met.


Professor Ashley Dennison

Professor of Surgery, Lecicester General Hospital, Leicester

President Elect

Dr Bill Greenhalf

Reader in Molecular and Cancer Medicine, University of Liverpool

Past President 

Dr Kofi Oppong

Consultant Gastroenterologist, Freeman Hospital, Newcastle

I qualified from Southampton University in 1987 and moved to the North East in 1990 to train in gastroenterology. My initial clinical and research interests were in Hepatology but since my appointment as a consultant at the Freeman Hospital in 1998 my focus has been on pancreaticobiliary medicine and endoscopy. Working with colleagues I have developed the regional pancreaticobiliary endoscopy service at the Freeman into one of the busiest in the country providing the full range of advanced pancreaticobiliary endoscopy.  I co-authored the British society of gastroenterology (BSG) endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) (2011) and ERCP (2014) service provision and training framework documents.  My clinical and research interests include outcome measure in ERCP and EUS, pancreatic cyst disease, and the endoscopic management of severe acute pancreatitis. I am the BSG endoscopy committee ERCP quality improvement lead and a founder member of the BSG endoscopy clinical research group. I was awarded the BSG Hopkins endoscopy prize in 2016 for research and innovation. I am married to Josie and have four children Kwabena, Yaa, Abena and Kwame. I am a keen photographer with a particular interest in landscape photography. It is a great honour to serve as President of the Pancreatic Society of Gt. Britain and Ireland.


Honorary Treasurer

Mr Colin McKay.

Consultant Pancreatic Surgeon, Glasgow Royal Infirmary

Mr McKay has more than 12 years experience as a consultant surgeon in the regional referral unit for upper gastrointestinal and complex pancreatic and biliary surgery. He trained in the West of Scotland, latterly as lecturer in the Academic Surgical Unit, University of Glasgow. He then spent a further year in Hong Kong, training in advanced endoscopy, ERCP, oesophageal surgery and endoscopic ultrasound. Mr McKay has an active research group with projects in pancreatic cancer and pancreatitis and am a regular invited speaker at national and international meetings.

Honorary Secretary

Mr Andrew Smith

Consultant Pancreatic Surgeon, Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust

Andrew is a consultant general surgeon and qualified at St.Mary's in 1991. He joined as a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons in 1995. Mr Smith's post graduate training took place in Leicester and Nottingham, including a period of research for a Doctor of Medicine thesis. To complete his training Mr Smith undertook an advanced HPB and laparoscopic fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation, USA.


Back to top

Committee Members

Professor Fiona Campbell

Professor of Histopathology, Royal Liverpool  University Hospital

Dr Bill Greenhalf

Reader, Clinical and Cancer Medicine, University of Liverpool

Mr Keith Roberts

Consutlant HPB and Transplant Surgeon, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham

Sophie Noble.

Clinical Nurse Specialist Representative. Leicester Royal Infirmary

Sinead Duggan.

Nutrition Interest Group Representative, Dublin

Back to top

Past Presidents

1975: Sir Rodney Smith, St Georges

1976: Mr Peter Bevan, Birmingham

1977: Professor Ivan Johnson, Newcastle

1978: Professor Patrick Collins, Dublin

1979: Mr Prof Henry T Howat, Manchester

1980: Mr John Trapnell, Bournmouth

1981: Mr Allan V Pollock, Scarbourough

1982: Dr Peter B Cotton, London

1983: Mr Bruce Torrance, Manchester

1984: Dr Martin Sarner, Manchester

1985: Professor Robin C N Williamson, Bristol

1986: Dr Christopher Mallinson, London

1987: Mr Michael Knight, London

1988: Professor Tim Northfield, London

1989: Mr Michael McMahon, Leeds

1990: Dr Joan Braganza, Manchester

1991: Mr Clem W Imrie, Glasgow

1992: Dr Charles Mitchell, Scarborough

1993: Mr Geoffrey Glazer, St Marys

1994: Dr Richard Lendrum, Newcastle

1995: Professor John Neoptolemos, Birmingham

1996: Professor Nick Lemoine, London

1997: Mr Trevor Leese, Lancaster

1998: Dr Mark Denyer, Leeds

1999: Mr Chris Russell, London

2000: Mr Martin Sarner, London

2001: Mr Colin Johnson, Southampton

2002: Mr Mike Larvin, Leeds

2003: Dr David Fine, Southampton

2004: Professor Andrew Kingsnorth, Plymouth

2005: Professor John Buckels, Birmingham

2006: Mr Richard Charnley, Newcastle

2007: Dr Stephen Pereira, UCLH

2008: Mr Richard Hall, Derby

2009: Dr Caroline Verbeke, Leeds

2010: Mr Mark Deakin, Stoke

2011: Professor Kevin Conlon, Dublin

2012: Mr Ross Carter, Glasgow

2013: Professor Robert Sutton, Liverpool

2014: Mary Phillips, Surrey

2015: Professor Andrew Hart, Norwich

Back to top